Jason Koon Wins PokerGO Tour Winner-Take-All

Jason Koon Wins PokerGO Tour Winner-Take-All

Home » Jason Koon Wins PokerGO Tour Winner-Take-All
Jason Koon Wins PokerGO Tour Winner-Take-All

After the first day, the inaugural PokerGO Tour Championship should have ended on the mercy rule. Jason Koon dominated Day One with a stack near two million chips (while everyone else was nearly 1.5 million behind). Koon won the invitation-only 2022 PokerGO Tour finale with that chip sum.

Modified Start Prepares Top Performers

The PokerGO Tour Championship was a 21-player event for the year’s top points earners. Top players get a higher chip stack to give them an edge. The PGA of America’s FedEx Championship event weights players’ scores based on their performance leading up to the conclusion.

According to the PokerGO algorithm, Stephen Chidwick started Wednesday with 342,000 chips. Phil Ivey (second, 309K), Koon (284K), Michael Duek (240K), and Sean Winter (240K) followed him in the standings (237K). Benny Glaser entered the tournament after a strong showing at the World Poker Tour World Championship (165K).

The winner-take-all freeroll, worth $500,000, had some “no-shows” despite 21 players being qualified. Adrian Attenborough, Paul Phua, Daniel Dvoress, Danny Tang, Duek, and Ivey did not play on Wednesday. Fifteen of the 21 players did. Still, the fifteen guys competed for the huge prize and the title of “High Roller” of them all.

Koon Blitzes Field

Koon started PokerGO strong. He snatched chips from World Series of Poker World Champion Espen Jorstad and Daniel Negreanu after Sam Greenwood laid down a hand post-flop that raised his stack above his starting level. However, two hands from Day One put Koon on top.

Koon saw a 4-7-K rainbow flop against Chidwick with 125K in the middle on the first. Koon led from the small blind while Chidwick called from the big. After a deuce on the turn slowed both men, Koon placed 60K on a Queen on the river. After Koon showed an A-Q for a rivered pair, Chidwick called and mucked, proving the bet correct.

Koon defeated Ausmus with one hand. Ausmus pushed his remaining 200K chips with a board of Q-8-K-6-10. Koon was glad to look him up. Ausmus realized why when Koon displayed a 9x and 4x for nothing and won with a chip stack close to 900K.

Koon doubled that stack to reach the final six, holding more over half the chips (1.829 million) when Day Two began on Thursday. Chad Eveslage (347K), Sean Winter (322K), Nick Petrangelo (285K), Glaser (283K), and Chidwick (152K) completed the final six. The five men under Koon had to finish first.

They tried to defeat Koon. Chidwick lost to Koon in fifth, while Eveslage lost to Petrangelo in sixth. Winter quickly made it three-handed by eliminating Glaser in fourth and Petrangelo in third to lead Koon. The pair fought for two more hours until the final hand.

Koon shoved pre-flop and Winter called. Koon wanted to take Winter’s blind with a 10-8. (J-8). A ten on the flop would put Koon ahead, while Winter hoped for a Jack. Koon won the 2022 PokerGO Tour with a trey on the turn and another on the river.

1. Jason Koon, $500,000
2. Sean Winter
3. Nick Petrangelo
4. Benny Glaser
5. Stephen Chidwick
6. Chad Eveslage

Check more news on Cogamblers!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

New Casinos

Win British Casino: 500 Free Spins on Chilli Heat!

Casinoluck Casino: 100% up to £100 + 100 SPINS in Book of Dead!

Spinshake Casino: No bonus yet

Party Casino: No bonus yet

Crystal Slots: No bonus yet